an Explore Mars Event

May 25-27, 2021

10:00 AM to 3:00 PM EDT Daily

Walter Engelund

NASA | Deputy Associate Administrator, Space Technology Mission Directorate

Walter (Walt) C. Engelund began serving as the Deputy Associate Administrator for Programs in the Space Technology Mission Directorate (STMD) at NASA Headquarters in September of 2019, and provides executive leadership and management of the full range of space technology programs within STMD, with an annual investment value of nearly $1Billion. He is responsible for budget planning and allocation of resources, and serves as the decisional authority for project and program content, ensuring that technology investments align with the NASA Strategic Plan and Roadmaps.

Prior to his appointment with STMD, Engelund spent 30 years at NASA’s Langley Research Center in Hampton, VA, most recently as the Director of the Space Technology and Exploration Directorate, where he led an organization that was responsible for developing technologies for human spaceflight and robotic exploration, including support for the development of the Space Launch System (SLS), the Orion Launch Abort System, Mars Entry, Descent, and Landing Instrumentation (MEDLI), commercial launch vehicles, and multiple other technologies to enable future human and robotic space exploration missions.

He also previously served as the Chief Engineer at NASA’s Langley Research Center, and was responsible for technical oversight for Langley’s diverse research and development portfolio, spanning aeronautics, human and robotic space technologies, and Earth science and remote sensing systems.

He is a recognized expert, reviewer, and consultant for hypersonic flight and planetary entry systems for NASA and other government agencies.  He has authored or co-authored over 60 conference and peer reviewed archival/journal publications. He is an Associate Fellow in the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and a lifetime member of Tau Beta Pi, the National Engineering Honor Society, and is the recipient of numerous NASA Achievement Awards including NASA’s Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medal and the Exceptional Achievement Medal.